President’s Award for Excellence in Leadership

Established in 2012 to honor past LCU Fund for Women’s Education Board President Carol Farris, the President’s Award for Excellence in Leadership recognizes a supported scholar who demonstrates extraordinary leadership in her school and / or home community.

2021 Recipient: Julia Cogdell

Each year, the LCU Fund invites partner schools to nominate a scholar in her final year of studies who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills in her home and / or school community. Prior recipients of the President’s Award for Excellence in Leadership are now serving on the front lines of health care, inspiring future generations as educators, providing comfort and guidance as religious leaders, working towards community change as non-profit leaders and creating art that reflects the beauty of the world around us.

We are pleased to share that Julia Cogdell has been selected as this year’s recipient. Julia recently received her master’s degree in social work from New York University’s Silver School of Social Work. During her time at the school, Julia displayed exceptional leadership skills. For two years, she served as co-president of the Students of Color Collective, a group created to build community, foster a sense of belonging, and cultivate professional and personal relationships among students of color. Moreover, she served as a Silver Champion where she provided guidance to new and prospective Silver School students. As part of her studies, she interned at Mt. Sinai which confirmed her interest in pursuing a profession as a hospital social worker with a focus on mental health, health disparities and equitable access to care.

2021 Honorees

We congratulate each of this year’s honorees for their well-deserved recognition.

Past Leadership Award Recipients

  • 2020: Angie Belen Monreal
    2020: Angie Belen Monreal
    Columbia School of Social Work
  • 2019: Dipika Shrestha
    2019: Dipika Shrestha
    Marxe School of International and Public Affairs
    Baruch College
  • 2018: Ithamar Grace Turenne
    2018: Ithamar Grace Turenne
    Columbia School of Nursing
  • 2017:Anne Marie Witchger
    2017:Anne Marie Witchger
    General Theological Seminary
  • 2016: Breanna Joinier
    2016: Breanna Joinier
    Sophie Davis School of Biomedical
    Education, City College of New York
  • 2015: Ofia Begum
    2015: Ofia Begum
    John Jay College of Criminal Justice
  • 2014: Angela Cipolla (Robidoux)
    2014: Angela Cipolla (Robidoux)
    General Theological Seminary
  • 2013: Sheina Theodore
    2013: Sheina Theodore
    Sophie Davis School of Biomedical
    Education, City College of New York